National Space Grant

NASA initiated the National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program, also known as Space Grant, in 1989. Space Grant is a national network of colleges and universities. These institutions are working to expand opportunities for Americans to understand and participate in NASA’s aeronautics and space projects by supporting and enhancing science and engineering education, research and public outreach efforts. The Space Grant national network includes over 850 affiliates from universities, colleges, industry, museums, science centers, and state and local agencies. These affiliates belong to one of 52 consortia in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

The 52 consortia fund fellowships and scholarships for students pursuing careers in science, mathematics, engineering, and technology, or STEM, as well as curriculum enhancement and faculty development. Member colleges and universities also administer pre-college and public service education projects in their states.

For additional information, visit:

The National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program is comprised of five regionals – the Great Midwestern Region, Mid-Atlantic Region, Northeast Region, Southeastern Region and the Western Region. NASA WVSGC is part of the Mid-Atlantic Region with seven state consortia: Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, District of Columbia, Virginia and West Virginia as indicated below.


For additional information, visit: